The one dependable event in my childhood Christmas experience was my parents’ annual “Christmas Fight”.  We actually found an odd comfort in guessing the moment of what became a very predictable (and traumatic) meltdown.  When holiday stress was high, my parents had neither the maturity nor wisdom to handle it well.  At this point we scattered to our rooms and waited for the storm to blow over.  My four siblings and I managed to cope by finding humor in a very painful family tradition.

Looking back, I realize the “Christmas Fight” was just the most obvious symptom of holiday stress in my family.  My mother was stressed about making sure our Christmas holiday included all the food, family, presents, and traditions she wanted so much for us to experience.  My father carried stress about holiday bills and extended family obligations.

I can see now that the worse part about the stress was not the fighting itself.  Yes, that was hurtful, but the worse part was what the holiday stress stole from us – the profound experience with God that He wanted for us.  Instead of drawing near to Him and celebrating the greatest gift ever given, my parents gave in to fears and expectations.

It is easy to give in to these internal and external expectations of the holidays.  We can all be tempted by the impossible goal to have the “best Christmas ever!” Along with that, many of us carry around the baggage of Christmas’ past.  This kind of stress is not what God desires for you.  I encourage you, for your sake for your children, to simplify, re-focus, relax, and choose to enjoy the miracle of the season.

God sent His only Son to you that first Christmas.  A Savior has been born to you, and you are loved beyond imagination! That is the greatest news ever, and one that you can experience in your life every day.  My prayer for you, and me, is that we will experience the Prince of Peace (and not the Christmas “Fight”) this Christmas and beyond.